My Partner In All Good Crimes | thislifemyday people

I do not even remember how or when exactly I first met him but since we both are PKs (Pastor’s Kids), we usually saw each other during common church services and fellowships. And I was not reluctant to become close to him quickly since one beautiful person was close to both of us – my little aunty Pui – who is now in heaven with the Lord we all love. We both loved her to bits and pieces and still miss her terribly. Her absence is most felt during family gatherings where she used to head the inviting and hosting of guests and make us all cook, clean and celebrate with joy. This brother-friend of mine still resounds with her laughter and portrays her lovely character, no matter how near or far he might be  from me .

Achunpu Ezra Kamei

If at all anyone asks me to describe him in one word, I would never have an answer. I mean, one single word will never be enough to describe such a man! Like I always say, this man will capture your soul when he sings and plays his guitar. However, he is no ordinary singer. He is a true worship leader and a worshipper on stage, in church, at home, at work and elsewhere. It is visible to people around him that his stronghold is in Jesus Christ, none else. What makes me and any random guy love him is that he does not make Christian life boring or restricted but rather makes it fun and adventurous.

He was the brains behind the founding of Colours of Hope, the musical group focused on spreading Christian love and friendship to any section of the society. I am so proud to be part of it, to be a COLOUR, a shining light to spread the Word. I feel anointed leading worship with him. Many things about worship were learnt during practice sessions and worship services with him.

He also does magic – I just crack up and laugh hysterically when I’m around him. During practice sessions. On the phone. On Skype. Even in group chats. My kind of person – he can be a friend in need to anyone of any religion, gender, age or occupation. Also, he loves food pretty much like I do. Which is a big plus.

He is one person I respect so much that I could literally insist all my friends to look at his life and learn from it. As for me, seeing him, I learnt that being educated like a robot or following popular culture or knowing how to speak English well should never be factors that determine how cool, useful and deep a person is. There is much more to a person than his Facebook posts. Look for more and you will find unconditional love, forgiveness and tranquillity.

I could write forever, but I halt here. I wish him all the blessings that a man could ever receive in a lifetime. Like in Martina Bride’s song “God’s Will,” let me just say this to him – ME AND GOD LOVE YOU and God bless you, abung Achunpu!


2 thoughts on “My Partner In All Good Crimes | thislifemyday people

Leave a comment