Death Calling | thislifemyday poetry

•Death Calling•

Death called out early this morning
I heard it in the church bells tolling
Each eerie clang for each year lived
Fewer the clangs, the more years missed
 
Death called out earlier this month
It took a man and spared his son
Left the woman of his life hanging on
To all they shared, to all that’s gone
 
Death called out at the dawn of this year
Whispering names of people into my ears
The ones I loved, who are no longer there
To sing these New Year songs into the air
 
Death calls out now as I write
It picks on my wounds with so much spite
Scrapes off hope away like animal hide
Leaves my naked self under the sun, tied
 
Death calls out every single day
It tells me it could be today
Says that I no longer have to wait
To end this life I truly hate
 
Death calls out all through life
Taking us all, many at a time
But it shall take nothing while I’m still alive
I shall redeem all I’ve been denied.

thislifemyday
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •


Leave a comment